The Someday Pile

Today I was struck by the urge to be at least a little productive, and for some reason, my attentions settled on my closet.  To be more precise, it’s not my closet, it’s the only closet in my room so I have to share it with the hubster.  I would say it’s not uncommon to share a closet with your spouse, although in my last house, the master bedroom had 2 closets and that was really nice……wait…..where was I?  Oh yes.  I would say it’s not uncommon to share a closet with your spouse, but what is uncommon is that my clothes take up far less space than his.  There are several reasons for this.

  1. He needs 2 wardrobes.  One for work and one for not-work.  I do not work outside my home, so I only need a not-work wardrobe.  Makes total sense, but I feel like most women who don’t need work clothes still manage to have a lot of clothes to wear.
  2. I hate shopping.  I loathe it.  I liken clothes shopping to a trip to the dentist.  Every part of it just sucks.  First, I hate having to hunt down the “plus size” section.  Plus size…what a phrase.  How come men get to be “Big n’ Tall” and women get to be “Plus Size”.  Unfailingly, the plus size section of the store is tiny and filled with clothes for old people.  I can never find anything I like.  Everything is either too dressy, too old ladyish, cut like a tent, or covered in gaudy flowers.  WTF?  Where are all the fat clothes for young people??  I know I’m not the only fat young person out there!  To make matters worse, when I do manage to find something I like, it’s almost invariably too short.  I look like Winnie the Pooh with my gut sticking out.  Not. Cool.
  3. I remove clothes from my closet when I cannot wear them anymore.  Typically this means that I have gotten too fat for them.  This leaves me with slim pickings and I hate to shop for more, so my rotation of clothing is pretty skimpy.

Anyway, the shelves at the top of my closet are overflowing with crap that doesn’t belong there, and stuff I can’t wear, and hubby’s stuff.  I pulled it all down and proceeded to organize it.  I also wanted to clean up the floor in there, so I pulled out this box that has been in there for over 2 years, since we moved in.  I know what’s in there – shirts I can’t wear anymore.  Shirts I like, but am too fat for.  Shirts I once wore…but can’t anymore.  I figured since I was pulling some stuff out to donate, I might look through there again and see if I could clear some of those out.

One by one, I pulled the shirts out, reliving all the memories that came with them.  I wished bitterly that I could fit into them.  I imagined how full my side of the closet would be if I wasn’t so damn fat.  I piled them up on my bed, in a stack I dubbed “The Someday” pile right next to the “Donate” pile, and the “Hang Back Up” pile.

These shirts are all XL with exception of one, which is a L.  Part of me doubts I will ever wear a L again.  I can’t ever remember being a size L, not ever.  Maybe early in high school?  Certainly not ever in my adult life.  Right now I am firmly in the land of multiple X’s…or rather the X with the number in front of it.  YUCK.  Being fat SUCKS and I am tired of it.

I boxed my Someday Pile back up and now I don’t know what to do with it.  I don’t want to put the box back in my closet.  My closet really isn’t big enough to keep clothes that I can’t wear in there…and it’s going to be forever til I can wear those clothes.  I also don’t want to hide them away so that I forget about them when the time comes.  Guess I’ll stick them in the basement and hope for the best.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kimberly
    Nov 22, 2010 @ 21:52:31

    Set a calendar appointment for 1 month from now to look in the box and try some shirts on. Then take steps to cut any unnecessary stuff from your diet, eat healthier and move a bit more. Make some small changes. Tell us about what the shirts fit like in a month. I think you will be surprised.

    Reply

  2. Natalia
    Nov 23, 2010 @ 06:23:54

    Hey Twiggy! Thanks for stopping by my blog! I know what you mean about closet cleaning. I finally had to get rid of all the clothes I couldn’t fit into. My hubby and I share a closet too. I’m not big on clothes shopping. I look forward to the day that I can enjoy it again! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

http://weightlossbloggers.ning.com
