What Have I Done? (And Weigh In)

Last night I did not want to go to the gym.  I knew I had to, but I didn’t wanna.  It is cold outside.  Really, really cold.  I think it was in the low 20’s last night.  Yuck.  We had a warm cozy fire going in the house, and here I was thinking about going out.side. 

Finally I decided to just go.  I planned to go swimming.  Fab.  I put my suit on, got a towel, and checked my bag for the essentials.  Towel?  Check.  Shampoo and stuff?  Check.  Clothes to change into?  Check!  Goggles?…….goggles?   Dammit!  I just bought those goggles to replace the ones my dog recently chewed up, where the hell are they?  Hubster and I searched high and low.  Nowhere to be found.  I called the Y where I swam last to ask if they’d been turned in.  Get this.  The dude at the front desk actually laughed at me.  He laughed and said “We literally have a whole box of goggles here, you are welcome to come down and look for yours.”   Long story short, I went and they were there.

Okay, now for the “what have I done” part.  As I walked to the locker room, I passed a “weigh in here!” sign.  I remembered that the Y does a “Holiday Trimmings” club where you weigh in and promise yourself that you won’t gain any weight between now and new years and if you’re brave, you might even drop a few pounds.  The person who loses highest % of their weight wins a prize, and people who attend all 3 weigh in times get a prize too.  Hmmmmmm…..I mean, I’m already losing weight.  This is no skin off my nose, right?  On the other hand, I have to weigh in at the Y, with the help of the attendant who is likely a skinny athletic type who provably will throw up a little in her mouth when she sees my weight.  Another problem was the weigh in was from 5-8pm and it was a little after 8 so I would have to go and find someone to weigh me.  SHAME!!!

I stood rooted to the spot for a few minutes.  Do I grow a pair and do this?  Or do I let yet another chance to break out of my comfort zone slip away.  Do I or don’t I?  Do I or don’t I?  I went into the locker room, shoved my stuff in a locker and went back out to find someone to help me.

I DID IT!  I stamped on my fear and shame and did it. 

The only thing is, I was asked to set a goal for myself.  The lady said it’s about 6 weeks (The final w/i is January 11th) so my brain immediately spat out TWELVE POUNDS!  Yikes!  That may be a tad unrealistic to lose 2 lbs a week even though the holidays.  Oh well.  Adding that to my goal sidebar thing now I guess.

Okay so now after all that, my weigh in for today.  Super-dee-duper!  I am down 2.5 lbs for the week.  Yay!  I am one happy camper!

Thanks for reading, and have a happy Thanksgiving!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kimberly
    Nov 24, 2010 @ 16:29:38

    12 lbs is doable. That isn’t a stretch at all to lose that much by January. You can totally do that. It is a short term goal and gives you something extra to strive for during the holidays.

    Reply

  2. Catherine F.
    Nov 25, 2010 @ 18:37:09

    Awesome stuff – the loss and the confronting and defeating a huge challenge with regard to getting to the gym and then getting weighed! Keep going girl!

    Reply

  3. Jacqui
    Nov 28, 2010 @ 08:11:58

    good job doing the weigh in! You can do this.. even over the holidays!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

http://weightlossbloggers.ning.com
