Shake a Tail Feather!

Did you see over on the right, that I am 3 lbs away from my Christmas goal?  Three.  Pounds.  I really want to get that knocked out this week.  Aside from completing my “impossible” Christmas goal several weeks early, that will put me ahead of schedule for my Holiday Trimmings club goal as well…and I won’t lie…seeing a number that doesn’t start with a 3?  SUPER BONUS!

I have developed a plan that will see me through to a loss of 3 lbs this week (I hope!).  I plan to work out nearly every day.  I don’t need to work out super hard every day, I actually think that will hinder my loss this week because of water retention needed to repair muscle and all that fun stuff, but I want to get in some working out 5 days this week (Wednesday to Wednesday).  Let’s shake a tail feather, people!

Last night I wasn’t feeling like going to the gym.  I was tired, it was cold, and it had snowed all day.  Yuck.  I decided to skip it and spend the evening glued to my computer instead.  I don’t know what happened though because the next thing I know, I was upstairs changing into gym clothes.  Then I was in the car, driving to the gym.  While there, I did 30 minutes on the elliptical and 40 minutes on the treadmill.  Wasn’t enough, though.  I put my ipod away and did weights for another few minutes, concentrating on my arms since I figure between all the other stuff I did, my legs got a workout already.  Yes! 

Today, since Kid3 was off to preschool and I had some time on my hands, I decided to try something I had not done before.  I fired up the PS3 and the netflix app for it and searched for a cardio dance (aka Zumba) video to do at home.  I figured this would save me from my evening “Idonwanna” thing, and the one time I tried Zumba, I liked it, but the classes are so crowded and I felt like an idiot since I don’t know the moves.

To give you an idea of what that was like, picture a pig (like a human sized one) trying to do a latin or pop dance in front of the TV (which is showing 12 ladies all doing the dance perfectly in sync), arms and legs flying all over, half tripping, constantly looking puzzled and trying to catch up.  That was me.

I was confused at least part of the time, and the ability to coordinate my arms with my legs escapes me.  For now.  No one gets it right the first time.  I was wearing my HRM and I was surprised at how well this did at keeping my heart rate up, and how many calories my HRM told me I was burning.  I trust it.  It knows my height, weight, and how hard I am working, and it typically gives me lower values that the cardio machines at the Y.  It gave me a calories burned value of 250 for the 4o minutes I did, which is probably about right.  This is definitely something I will do again!

I am going to follow my existing food plan.  I don’t know if I could eat any less, especially since I will be going to the gym more.  My current plan is working well and I don’t want to mess with that, so I will continue eating 1000-1500 calories a day.  A typical day is around 1200-1300 but there are those days when I eat less, and sometimes I eat more.

The last thing I am going to do is I am taking a fiber supplement starting this week.  I don’t think this will help me lose weight directly, but I plan on taking it (it’s the kind you mix in water) right around my “snack attack” time of day.  Usually I get the munchies between 2 and 4 pm.  I’m not actually hungry (if I was actually hungry, I would eat something) but I feel like munching.  I got a really full feeling the first time I tried this stuff last night, so I’m hoping that by taking it at that time, I can squash the munchies.

Oh, and drinking more water.  That is something I have to really try hard to do.

I would really, really like to reach my goal this week.  If I don’t, it won’t be because I screwed up and blew it.  It’ll be because my body is adjusting to a different activity level, and I will for sure get it next time…but it would be so awesome to hit that goal in 6 days!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. bd160
    Dec 04, 2010 @ 01:36:46

    CONGRATULATIONS!!! Oh, how exciting — you can SO totally do this! And what a great NSV to take yourself to the gym when you had decided not to – that means it’s become a habit — go Twiggy!!! 😀

    I’ve always wanted to try Zumba — I’ll have to check out a DVD some time!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

http://weightlossbloggers.ning.com
