Grinding Along

Today was Kid3’s Christmas program at school, and it was adorable.  It was our 5th year in a row sitting in the audience at one of these things.  Next year is probably going to be our last time, I think it will be bitter sweet.  You know how those things are.

For breakfast this morning, I made baked oatmeal with apples.  It was a big hit!  Here is the recipe in case you want to try it:

  • 1 1/2 cup steel cut oats
  • 1 apple, peeled and diced (or whatever fruit you want to try)
  • Cinnamon
  • Nutmeg
  • 1 egg
  • Milk

Pour your oats into a bowl the night before and add enough water to cover.  To aid digestibility, put in a splash of something acidic.  I have used lemon juice, vinegar, yogurt…you won’t taste it in the end.  Just a splash, like a tablespoon.  Let that soak overnight.

When you wake up the next morning, drain the water off your oats and put them in a 9×9 glass baking dish.  Mix in the egg, 1/4 cup milk, the apple, cinnamon, and nutmeg.  You could also use other spices, whatever you want.  Mix it all up really good.

Bake at 350 for 45 minutes

I split the contents of the 9×9 dish into 9 servings for easy calorie counting, and serve it with a little bit of cold milk mixed in.  The kids ate it up and asked for more. 

You can eat it as is, or sweeten it a little.  You could use honey, maple syrup, brown sugar, or something else, I’m not really familiar with the options for artificial sweeteners since I don’t use them.  If you use sweet apples, you might not even need anything at all.

I stayed up late last night and had a little bit of a snack attack.  I went to the gym and did a longer than usual workout, so I’m sure it was fine, but I feel guilty today so I’m trying to behave.  This morning I had 1 serving of the oatmeal I made for breakfast.  There was a luncheon after the Christmas program at the preschool, so I that’s what I had for lunch.  It was full of cookies, cupcakes, finger sandwiches, cheese, sausage, crackers, etc…the usual.  There was a sub sandwich cut into 2 inch segments so I had 1 piece of that, 3 crackers each with a piece of cheese on it, and some fresh pineapple.  I also had one mini cupcake.  No cookies, no candy, nothing else.

I’m pretty pleased with my performance at the luncheon, and my ability to have ONE small dessert item without it cascading into me having a little bit of everything.  Yay!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kimberly
    Dec 16, 2010 @ 21:14:28

    I’m going to try that. It sounds like a great way to make steel cut oatmeal – which I want to try to eat more of because it is so much better for you.

    Congrats on the holiday restraint. That takes effort.

    Reply

  2. Twiggy
    Dec 16, 2010 @ 21:51:26

    It’s pretty darn yummy and you can put all kinds of different stuff in it. I have tried it with pumpkin as well and I want to try raisins next.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

http://weightlossbloggers.ning.com
