Saturday!

You see the light snow falling on my blog?  That’s exactly what it’s doing here today.  Just a few flakes drifting slowly toward the ground.  I kinda like it.

So ever since Wednesday, when I tried on the 3X coat, I have been meaning to try on my own winter coat.  I wanted to see just how far off I was from wearing it.  I wore it comfortably when I was in the 250’s for sure, I have pictures.  I also know that during my last weight loss effort (that’s a post for another day) I managed to zip it up at about 288…I remember trying it on when I got to my first 10% after not being able to wear it for a couple of years.  I remember barely being able to zip it up then, and it being pretty snug.  The coat was put away in an out of the way place though, so every time I thought about it was the wrong time to dig it out and try it.

Until today.

I pulled it out of the closet and put it on and reached for the two ends at the bottom and tried to bring them together…and they reached.  As I zipped it up I had to suck it in a little bit, but I’ll be damned.  It zipped up.  The kids and I went to the store on a quick errand and I wore it.  This is a longer coat, it goes down to about mid thigh.  I unzipped it a few inches at the bottom becausae I was afraid the zipper would break if I sat down in it.  Otherwise it was totally fine.  Snug, yes, but fine.  Yay! 

I honestly thought it would be another 20 lbs before I could wear it at all and it probably will be 20 lbs or so before it’s comfortable and a little roomy…and it will probably be a little warmer here by then.  Still, at least when it’s really cold I’ll have a coat to wear now.

🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Karen Ogle
    Dec 18, 2010 @ 11:03:17

    Good for you! I’m so glad. Nothing feels better than putting on something you expect to be too small and finding out that it fits after all. 🙂

    Reply

  2. bd160
    Dec 18, 2010 @ 20:41:01

    Good for you! That’s a much better measure of your progress than something off the rack when the sizing can vary SO MUCH within one “size.” And Karen is right — it’s such a great feeling to be able to put something on that you didn’t think you’d be able to. Yaay!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

http://weightlossbloggers.ning.com
