The one holiday that doesn’t make sense to me

I really don’t understand the compulsion that most people seem to have to make a big fuss about getting a new calendar.  We don’t celebrate and stay up all night on the last day of every month…so why do we do it on the last day of every year?  I just don’t get it.

Along with my refusal to celebrate New Years, I don’t make resolutions.  I don’t spend January 31st reflecting on the events of the last 12 months or speculating on what will happen during the next 12 months.  I think New Years Resolutions are a little bit silly.  Don’t get me wrong, if making them makes other people happy, then I am happy they’re happy…but it’s not for me.  I’ve seen way too many people pronounce, every January 31st that this will be the year they <insert whatever they hope to do>.  Every year.  The same thing.  They never do it.  I guess it just doesn’t make any sense for me to do it when I see how it normally turns out.

I feel like if you want to do something or change something, DO IT!  Now!  Don’t wait until a certain day so you can slap a title on it and give up by March.  That’s why I started this journey in October…I recognized that I was ready for a change and I went after it. 

Now, I get that it is traditional and a lot of people think it’s fun.  Trust me, I’m not making fun of anyone who makes them, I’m just saying why you won’t find a New Years Resolutions post on this blog. 

I went to bed at 10 last night, and starting today I will try to remember to write 2011 on stuff…that’s about as much thought as I give this “Holiday.”

I know.  I’m no fun ;).

Leave a Reply

http://weightlossbloggers.ning.com
