Cutting off the past

Yesterday I noticed that I was having to hike my pants up again all the time.  This pair is my smallest pair by the numbers, but they are pretty stretchy and I have another pair that isn’t so that other pair feels tighter in the waist but it’s baggy on the butt so I don’t really like wearing them.  The pair I am wearing fits nicely on my hips and thighs, but not so much on my (non) waist.  My fat gut sort of stretches the waistband and then they want to fall down.  It’s really annoying.

You may remember me mentioning that I dug up a belt in my closet and started using that, and it’s been working really well…until yesterday.  I should have taken a picture of this belt.  It was a cheapie that came with a pair of shorts I bought a while back, and it looked like it had been through the ringer.  The “leather” had broken around the notch that I always used, leaving the whole thing to be held together by this little bit of cloth backing on the back of it.  It was really sad looking.

Recently, I moved it up to the next notch, which was also all torn up and held together only by the backing.

Yesterday, about the time I hitched my pants up for the 500th time, I decided it might be time to move up another one.  It was both good news and bad news.

The good news is, I think my waist is coming out to play a little bit.  Also, the next notch is whole and I have never used it, and I have had this belt for 18 months.

The bad news is, with my waist coming back, it means I will have to unbuckle the belt and stuff to pull my pants down to go pee (which I do often because of all the water!).  I guess having a wasit is a fair trade. 

But it meant one more thing.  It meant that I had to cut the rest of the belt off.  I can’t leave the rest of it hanging there by a thread…I have to cut if off clean.  No turning back. 

I went and got a pair of scissors and looked skeptically at the inch between the holes.  Could I really tighten my belt an inch?  Then I thought about having to pull my pants up all the time…and snipped it off without further thought or ado.

I put my pants on and my belt seemed alarmingly short.  I sucked it in a little and buckled it up.  It’s snug but comfortable, and it holds my pants up.  I guess that’s all I can ask for.

Which brings me to my next point.  I have heard that the fat around your belly/waist is the last to go, is that right?  I have noticed some of that but most of what I notice is in my face, and I know I have lost an inch off my thighs.  After a 30 lbs loss one would hope to have lost some girth around the middle, but man that seems to be taking a long time.  So, do you think that’s true?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Karen Ogle
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 12:42:50

    Everyone loses weight differently but the weight around my stomach has been the last to go for me. It is frustrating because that is where I’ve needed to lose weight the most.

    Reply

  2. Lisa
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 17:30:23

    I know a lot of people who tend to loose around their mid-section last. When I lost a lot of weight before (back in the day), I recall that being the case. Of course I wanted the tummy gone but it stuck with me the longest. Hang in there — it will come off! 😉

    Reply

  3. Kimberly
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 20:39:45

    For me, it has been the last to go. But I have also noticed the with running and reducing the carbs/sugar I eat I have made great strides in that region lately.

    You have to psyche yourself out for the long haul. Don’t get discouraged because you aren’t losing weight where you want to – eventually you will.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

http://weightlossbloggers.ning.com
