The contest is over (and a minor freak out by me)

Yesterday, I had a bit of a freak out.  I misread a label on something, and was at 120% of my RDA of sodium by lunch time.

I freaked.  The LAST thing I needed for my final weigh in for my contest was a sodium spike.  After I worked so hard.  I started to pound down the water.  I was constantly filling my brita pitcher and then emptying it – down my throat.  I was so close and I had blown it completely by accident!  I was stressed out, and so I felt like snacking all day.  I fought off that urge, not wanting to do any further damage, but it was a rough day.

When dinner time came around, I was stumped.  What to make?  I racked my brains, trying to come up with an idea that  had very little sodium.  I couldn’t think of anything.  Finally, at 5:45, I couldn’t fight off the family any more, and made a frozen pizza for them so they could eat and quit whining.  I didn’t touch it.  I was still trying to think of what I could have for dinner that didn’t involve salt.  I wasn’t really hungry at all…but having had only about 500 calories for the day, I needed something for dinner.

Then I realized I was supposed to be at a meeting in half an hour.  By the time that was over, it would be 9 pm, and my hopes of ever eating dinner vanished.  I went to bed having eaten a grand total of maybe 550 calories for the entire day.

When I went to bed, I couldn’t sleep.  My stomach was finally starting to complain, but that wasn’t the problem.  I was just so darn excited about my weigh in.  I finally drifted off at around midnight, dreaming of scales showing nice, low numbers. 

Due to my schedule today, I was either going to have to get up early to weigh in at the Y, or not do it until after 11:30.  Now, I don’t know about you, but I won’t eat or drink anything before a weigh in…so since I was having trouble sleeping anyway, when I woke up at 6:30 I decided to just get up and go.  I checked my home scale weight…awesome.  I put on my lightest clothes and shoes (yes, I actually weighed all my shoes to find out which were the lightest).  I was ready.

When I got to the gym, I went to the locker room and stripped off my outer layer (it’s REALLY cold here…) and was down to my light workout clothes.  I marched over to the weigh in area, and gave my name. 

This is where it gets fun.  Super duper fun.

I stepped on the scale and held my breath, waiting for the little dashes to stop flashing.  They did.  A number popped up.  A number that is more than 20 lbs less than my initial weight from a week or so before Thanksgiving.  The lady wrote it down, saying that usual “Oh, good job.” type thing, then she squinted at her paper and said:

“Wait…is that?  (pause) twenty?

I grinned.  “Yes.”

Wow!” she said.  “You must have worked really hard!”

I agreed that I had.

“So…was it the contest that really got you going?”

I told her that I had been going before the contest, but that the contest was extra motivation for sure.

Then it was time for her to give me my official contest t-shirt, and in a nod to the fact that I am still fat, I asked for an XXL.  Cheap cotton shirts always shrink a lot anyway.

I am stoked, people.  I lost 20 lbs for that contest.  That’s a lot.  That’s about 6.5% of my initial weight (my first w/i there was 307).  I am super proud.  I thought my goal of 12 lbs was unreachable with the holidays in there…but I blew it away.  Granted, my first weigh in there was in the evening and my last one was in the morning but you know what?  I still blew my goal away, even if you add a couple of lbs on for daily fluctuation.  I am pleased.  If I don’t win, whoever did deserves it.  If I did win, I deserve it!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Karen Ogle
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 15:10:44

    Great job, Twiggy! Good for you for losing so much more than expected and for winning the contest. I hope you snap a photo of you in the t shirt and share it. Nothing better to lift the spirits than seeing rewards for a job well done. Hugs. 🙂

    Reply

  2. FatAngryBlog
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 17:48:58

    Fantastic job on your loss, Twiggy! That’s awesome :>:>:>

    Reply

  3. Kimberly
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 19:49:54

    You already won, whether you win the contest or not. 20 lbs is a lot of weight to drop and you did it through the holidays. That is incredible. Well done.

    Reply

  4. Jacqui
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 21:08:04

    awesome job on the weight loss!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

http://weightlossbloggers.ning.com
