Weigh in Wednesday

Wow.  I am humbled by all the folks who came out of the woodwork and commented on yesterday’s post.  Thank you all so much. 

Just to be clear.  I don’t think this girl is a Mean Girl.  You know the reference I was making, right?  The movie about horrible teenage girls?  At least that is what I assume it was about from the title, I never saw it.  I think she is more a Mean Girl in the making.  I see the potential for her to be a real problem when she gets to be about 13 or so.  We all knew girls like that growing up…the ones who were merciless.  If you weren’t in their little circle of friends, your best bet was to just stay out of the way.  Even if you were in their circle…that didn’t mean you were 100% safe.  Anyway, I can see her growing up to be a real…well…bitch. 

I may be wrong.  She may be the sweetest girl ever.  I don’t know if she actually teased my kid or if she just said the thing that popped into her head, like one commenter said.  I know that little kids sometimes do that, and that’s why I said in my post that it might have been something she said almost in passing, but my kid definitely remembers it.  It’s possible it stuck in her mind because it shocked her.  She may have only thought of me as her mother, and not really noticed so much that I am fat…who knows.  I won’t pretend to understand 5 year olds.  The whole situation is just sad and I will leave it there. 

Okay, so on to bigger and better things.  My weigh in this morning was good.  I have no idea why, I don’t feel like I deserved it…but whatever.  I’ll take it.  Oh, the number.  It makes me shudder, really.  WOW, great job, Twiggy…you’ve lose 34 lbs!  286 is your magic number today.  Wow…286?  Gag me.  In what universe is 286 something to be happy about?  I guess the 320 universe I came from.  34 lbs in and I am still well above where many of you started.  Humbug.

I just got a reminder that I have a lunch meeting today at Cheesecake He@ven.  Lovely.  I’m going to go, this is a once a month meeting that I hate to miss, I just wish they were not eating at a food place.  One that specializes in cheesecake, no less.  Today I am feeling strong and able to stay focused, though.  I will find something on the menu that I can eat.  I have never been there, but I’m checking out the menu now so I can decide what to get ahead of time, while I have my head on straight.  While I have been having snack attacks lately, today I feel really impartial about food…so it’s a shame today had to be the day we have to go to that place.  Next time they ask if we should go out to lunch, I am going to vote no.  I didn’t vote this time at all…but I don’t need this.

Okay, last item of bizniz and I will let you all go.  Progress pics.  I had Hubster take them last night so after I am done writing this post I’ll go to work on that.  I don’t know how many times I will be interrupted by kid#3 while I put them up, so if they’re not up when you check, check again.  They will be up today, I promise.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Karen Ogle
    Jan 19, 2011 @ 10:36:00

    You are probably right about the kid being a mean girl in the making. Someone, somewhere in her world taught her the word fat as something to be disliked or scorned. Can you imagine how it will be for her if she ever becomes overweight? If she grows up disliking fat people, she will dislike herself if she is ever in that boat. It is just sad all the way around. I can imagine if she is hearing how bad fat people are that she is probably hearing a lot of other prejudicial remarks.

    Enjoy your lunch out but good for you for planning ahead. I’ve learned the hard way the not planning always sets me up for a fall.

    Reply

  2. Twiggy
    Jan 19, 2011 @ 10:46:27

    I thought the same thing…if SHE ever gets fat, look out. If someone at home is putting a lot of pressure on her not to be fat, it could have the opposite effect. I have read many blogs where the the author says that as a child, he or she was put on diets and stuff…I am *very* careful about that with my kids.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

http://weightlossbloggers.ning.com
