I’m still here

The day following my last post was fine.  I know, I should have dropped in to let you know, but I have been doing great.

We had tacos the other night – and I decided to have mine as a taco salad instead.  I put the meat I would have put in my tacos and put it on top of a mountain of lettuce, tomatoes, and peppers.  I added a bit of sour cream and some avocado and it was really good.

I have tried to make good choices when we go out to eat, and tried to make good choices at home.  Snacking continues to be my biggest problem.  90% of the time, I don’t snack even when I have the urge to, but the fact that the urge is there at all is the problem.  I just want to eat! 

Sometimes I look at my total amount of weight lost, and feel disappointed.  As of my last weigh in, it was something like 34 lbs.  That sounds like such a tiny amount.  Only 34.  I thought the same thing about 10 lbs.  Hey, you can have the stomach flu for 24 hrs and drop 10 lbs easy.  10 lbs is nothing.  Then 15.  15 lbs is nothing.  Lots of people lose 15 lbs…then they gain back 20.  When I got to 20, I felt like it was more substantial.  25 was halfway to 50.  35 sounds like….so little.

I think as of this next weigh in, I will be within sight of 40 lbs lost.  40 sounds like a solid number.  And it’s almost 50.  Will I be happy when I have lost 50 lbs?  Probably not.  I’ll be looking ahead toward the 60 lbs mark.

60 is a lot of weight….right?

When will I be able to look at my amount of weight lost and appreciate that it is a lot?  Not enough to quit, but enough to be proud of?

I think the main reason I am so down on my progress in general is my lack of belly fat loss.  I don’t do measurements because it seems like I can never find the same spot again…but it doesn’t seem like I have lost a lot from my tummy.  Thighs, yes.  Absolutely.  2 inches per thigh is not bad.  Tummy?  When will you shrink a little bit? 

I guess I’m assuming that when I have lost 20 more lbs or so, it will have. 

I just feel so flabby, even though I can feel hard muscles under the flab…that doesn’t make me feel much better with all this floppy fat hanging on!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenn @ Watch My Butt Shrink!
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 12:38:17

    I guess it’s all relative – I would be ELATED if I was down 35 pounds right now!
    It took you a long time to gain, its going to take time to lose. Concentrate on the journey, not the destination – you’ll get there soon enough.

    Reply

  2. Twiggy
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 13:07:00

    You know…I’m not even saying that it’s taking a long time really. I know that an average of over 2 lbs per week isn’t exactly a turtle pace, in fact I’m a little bit astonished at how fast it’s coming off. I just don’t know when the actual number will sound like a lot…an accomplishment. I have to check and see if you’ve told us what your starting point was…I guess at 320, 35 lbs doesn’t make a whole lot of difference 😉 If you’re something like 170, then yeah, 35 would be a lot 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

http://weightlossbloggers.ning.com
