The Good News

I realize I’ve been full of gloom lately…it probably doesn’t seem like it as much to you because I went from having a decent weigh in and winning a contest to my last post which was pretty morose…but the space of that was almost a week and I will tell you that every single day of that week I was feeling glum.

Here is the good news.

First item.  I woke up yesterday with an intense desire to try a recipe for cauliflower pizza I found on Lyn’s Escape from Obesity  who in turn found it here (trying to give all the credit that is due!).  The only problem was I did not have any cauliflower.  I spent a couple of hours trying to decide if it was worth a trip to the store in temps well below zero (that’s below ZERO folks, not below freezing…biiiiiig difference).  In the end I bundled Kid#3 up and we went.  I made a couple of small changes to Lyn’s version.  I used a little less cheese where cheese was called for (I was shooting for very low calories yesterday).  Also in the “crust” mixture, I use italian seasoning in place of oregano, and a generous amount of garlic powder. 

It.  Was.  Amazing.

Seriously.  I loved it.  I read all the comments on her blog so I made sure to spread the crust as thin as possible and I had to bake it for quite a while longer than 15 minutes, but you REALLY want the crust to be very well done.  It’s worth the wait.  The broiling part goes much faster.  I wish I had pictures, it was gorgeous and delicious.  I ate the entire thing and it was worth fewer than 400 calories.  That was after not eating breakfast, so my calorie count after lunch was less than 400.

I liked it SO much, I made it again for dinner.  I had a pizza, and I made the kids a breadstick version (no sauce, more cheese) to go with their dinner.  They loved it!  So my dinner clocked in at less than 400 calories again, bringing my total for the day to 800.

I was shooting for a very low calorie day to even things out after last week.  Today I am just going for moderate.  But I’m getting off the subject.

Item #2.  I was reading my previous post about the peanut butter MMs after someone commented that I should not be too hard on myself, it was only a little chocolate.    Sure enough, I left out the part where I ate a lot more.  Like 2 servings (about 450 calories).  I started out doing fine with the 5 I ate, but then things got away from me.  Anyway, along with the PB MMs, my relative sent one of these:

 

I have not eaten it.  It’s been in there for maybe 2 weeks.  It is not calling my name.  I have not been tempted to eat it.  I like that.  I feel like I am exercising my “saying no to myself” muscle every time I see it and don’t eat it. 

Third item.  Are we up to 3 already?  To celebrate my favorite team’s NFC championship, I bought a shirt.  I bought it in a size smaller than I normally would.  Normally I would have looked for an XXL, so I bought this one in XL.  More motivation to lose more weight if I ever want to wear that shirt, right?  Today I tried it on and saw this (It looked better in  real life):

 

My first thought was “OMG.  My boobs look AWESOME in that!”  My second thought was “OMG.  I SO cannot wear this to the preschool today.”  Too much boob for little kids.  It’s too snug to wear, really, but I am a lot closer to fitting in it than I thought.  Then I remembered the someday box.  I pulled it out of the closet and on top there was a shirt with characters from the book “Where the Wild Things Are.”  I decided to try it on….and I wore it to the school (I was going to do volunteer work).  It looked fine.  Something out of the someday box!

I knew that was one of the more generous XL’s in that box so I didn’t bother with much else, but still. 

YAY!

In other news, I am scrambling to stay on track now.  I want to see results.  I want to start on the last 10 lbs to get to -50.  I want it, so I am doing it.  I ate fewer than 1000 calories yesterday, and so far today I am up to about 600.  Not sure what we’re having for dinner yet, but if I want to hit 1200ish, I have 600 and that’s plenty. 

I want to push past this “wall” I seem to have it and keep going.  It’s not a plateau, I would call it that if I’d been on plan all the time and not losing for a few weeks.  “The wall” for me is when I hit the -30 mark and then I lose my grip and things get out of hand.  I have been here twice before.  This time I must move on.

One more thing I forgot to mention.  I was not outted at my party on sunday.  My mother in law came in and she said “You look nice” but that could have meant anything from she liked my new shirt to she liked the way I did my hair.  Nothing was said about weight at all.  WHEW!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Karen Ogle
    Feb 10, 2011 @ 17:03:17

    I’m glad the party went well for you. I know you were worried. Sometimes people are classy enough not to make personal comments about weight and size. There are some though who will say anything. Have a wonderful day!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

http://weightlossbloggers.ning.com
