Don’t know what to call this one…

Last night we went to a tubing event with the cub scouts.  It was fun:

 The view from the bottom.  They have a  tow line that you can see on the right hand side.  Alternatively, you can walk up the hill if you want.  I walked up the hill the first time, but as you can see in the picture, it was pretty slick so I did not walk up again.  I would have, just to get in some extra excersise, but some things are just not worth falling down a 450 foot hill. 

This is the view from the top.  I’m a little bit sad that this picture doesn’t do it justice.  It was a little bit scary the first time down, I won’t lie lol.  See that backstop at the end?  To keep from flying over it into the road on the other side, I had to dig my heels into the snow from time I cleared the walls between the lanes, and dig them in HARD!  My hamstrings DID get a good workout last night just from that.  Even then I almost went over the edge.  I sailed right up to the top and sort of teetered at the edge like on a cartoon, but managed to stay on the right side.  I did see a few people go over the edge.  All the kids were desperately trying to go over it but weren’t heavy enough to go that fast.  I am plenty heavy enough, so I had to try desperately not to go over it.

Yesterday was the warmest day we’ve had in a while, so it was a really nice evening to go.  It was about 38 degrees while we were there.  A welcome break from the sub zero temps we’ve been having. 

2 years ago we went to this place with a church group.  It was below zero that night, and I could not zip my jacket up.  I’ve talked about my jacket before.  I can now zip it without much of a problem, but last night I didn’t even wear it.  Just a sweatshirt and a pair of sweatpants under my jeans.

I would have probably still gone even if I still weighed 320 lbs.  I wonder if I would still be 320 if I had not started this journey.  Could I perhaps have been more?  (scary thought!)  Maybe a little less?  Who knows.  In any case, last night I was glad to be 40ish lbs lighter and in better shape as I played in the snow with my kids.  That hill is 450 ft long and is 70 ft higher at the top, and I walked it just fine without even getting winded.

I am really looking forward to going again next year.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Karen Ogle
    Feb 14, 2011 @ 12:34:02

    That looks like loads of fun. I’m glad you had such a great time!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

http://weightlossbloggers.ning.com
