mmmmmm…

I’m feeling bloggy today and I am once again having that fabulous cauliflower pizza so I wanted to take pics for you.  I did not invent this recipe.  I got it from Lyn of Escape from Obesity  who found it here and tweaked it a bit.  Both of those sites have pictures of it, but I like it SO much that I wanted to take pictures of it and share them with you, too.  As far as I’m concerned, there can never be too many pictures of this amazing pizza.  These pics are not the best quality, I took them with my phone.  Someday I will get a phone with a decent camera on it.

Step 1.  Steam some cauliflower until it is just done but not mushy (eww!).   I use frozen but you could use fresh.  Let it cool and drain completely.  You don’t want extra water in your crust.  I had a picture of this step but I guess my phone ate it.

The recipe says to use a cheese grater on the cauliflower.  I tried very briefly to use a cheese grater…that was not very efficient.  I don’t have a ricer.  This is my weapon of choice, seen here with the grater attachment installed:

 

Step 2.  Once you have your cauliflower reduced to little bits by whatever means you see fit, mix it with 1/4 cup egg of some sort, (I say that because Lyn’s recipe calls for egg beaters, which I don’t have.  Sometimes I have a carton of egg whites, but not usually.  I just use a whole egg in mine.  Use whatever egg item suits you best) about 1/2 cup of shredded low moisture, part skim mozzarella cheese (you can use low fat, I just use regular), a healthy dose of garlic powder, and a good bit of italian seasoning.  I don’t measure either of those, I just eyeball it.  You could use other spices too, remember that cauliflower by itself is kinda bland.  Use what you like as far as spices.  Extra salt is not needed.

Step 3.  Once you have that all mixed up, get out your cookie sheet and put a piece of parchment paper on it.  You could try to keep the crust from sticking by using liberal amounts of non stick cooking spray, but this is way better.  Your pizza will not stick to parchment paper.  Please don’t use wax paper, they are not the same.  Put your crust mixture on the paper and smooth it out into a very thin circle.  It doesn’t have to be perfect, it’s more important that it is thin than circular shaped.

Step 4.  Bake for however long it takes for the edges to sort of start to curl up off the paper.  The edges should be very brown.  This is vital if you don’t want soggy crust.  The amount of time it takes will vary based on how much water was in your cauliflower when you grated it, how much you used, etc.  Start checking it at about 15 minutes but don’t be surprised if it takes much longer.  It should look like this when it’s done:

Step 5: Almost there!  Take it out of the oven and slide it off the paper and back on to the cookie sheet.  Apply whatever pizza sauce you see fit.  I have some that comes in a squeeze bottle.  Don’t use too much, I think it makes the crust soggy if there is too much sauce.  Sprinkle on about 1/2 cup of  shredded part skim low moisture mozzarella, and whatever toppings you like.  I used red onions and one slice of pepperoni cut up into little bits for this one.

Step 6: Switch the oven to broil and stick it back in.  WATCH IT CAREFULLY.  There is a fine line between perfectly done pizza and a burned up mess.  It happens fast, folks.  Watch that pizza! 

Step 7: When it’s perfectly done, take it out, slice, and enjoy!  Because it’s very thin, it cools VERY quickly so don’t let it sitting too longer before you enjoy it.  If you’ve done it right, you will be able to pick the pieces up and eat them just like a “normal” pizza.  Like this:

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenn @ Watch My Butt Shrink!
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 10:36:39

    Wow, that looks surprisingly yummy! I will have to try it!

    Reply

  2. Twiggy
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 13:14:47

    I kept reading rave reviews about it so I decided to give it a try, and it was good. If you go into it expecting it to be *exactly* like regular pizza, you’re going to be let down a little I think, but considering the nutrition info, it’s really pretty niffty. Lyn says her version is under 400 calories. Mine is a little different but not a lot. I use a whole egg usually, but a little less cheese…next on my agenda is cauliflower mac and cheese!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

http://weightlossbloggers.ning.com
